International Research Award

of the Max Weber Foundation in Cooperation with the Historisches Kolleg

The aims of the International Research Award include, amongst others, the recognition of the achievements of those scholars whose work to date has made an exemplary contribution to international research in the fields of the humanities and social and cultural sciences. The International Research Award is worth 30,000 Euros.



         Isabell V. Hull (2014)

         Georges Didi-Huberman (2015)

         Hélène Miard-Delacroix (2017)

         Włodzimierz Borodziej (2020)


Call for Application

The Max Weber Foundation and the Historisches Kolleg jointly announce the International Research Award.  

The award includes the option of a period of research of two months at the Historisches Kolleg in Munich. The awardee can also conduct an international colloquium at the Historisches Kolleg.

Scholars from the host countries and regions of the institutes and branch offices of the Max Weber Foundation are eligible for nomination. Academics from research facilities in Germany are eligible to nominate.

Currently no further applications are possiblie.


Members of the Award Jury

  • Prof. Dr. Hans van Ess (President of the Max Weber Foundation)
  • Prof. Dr. Hartmut Leppin (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt)
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Rexroth (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
  • Prof. Dr. Valeska von Rosen (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)
  • Prof. Dr. Karen Shire (Universität Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Schulze Wessel (Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Historisches Kolleg, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)

For further information contact forschungspreis(at)

Information on how to send the nomination documents to us in encrypted form can be found here: